Catalog

Many Bibliomation libraries are adjusting their services at this time. Please contact your local library staff or consult their website for more information about the services they are providing.

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 7 of 28

Never always sometimes / Adi Alsaid.

Alsaid, Adi (author.).

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Bibliomation. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Rockville Public Library.
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Rockville Public Library F ALS (Text to phone) 34035138891383 Teen Fiction Available -

Record details

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: Resolving to avoid high school clichés, friends Dave and Julia maintain a list of everything they vow to never do, but he has already broken a rule by secretly pining for her, a situation complicated when Julia suddenly decides to break every rule.
Subject: Best friends Juvenile fiction
High school students Juvenile fiction
Schools Juvenile fiction
Best friends Fiction
High school students Fiction
Schools Fiction
Genre: Young adult fiction.

Syndetic Solutions - BookList Review for ISBN Number 9780373212101
Never Always Sometimes
Never Always Sometimes
by Alsaid, Adi
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

BookList Review

Never Always Sometimes

Booklist


From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.

Alsaid's sophomore effort is every bit as effortlessly readable as his popular debut, Let's Get Lost (2014). Before beginning high school, best friends Dave and Julia create a list of clichés they plan to avoid: never run for prom king, never hook up with a teacher, etc. But after they get accepted to college, a slump sets in, and they decide to mix things up by tackling items on the list. For the characters, the challenges lead to some unexpected results. Readers, on the other hand, will likely anticipate most of the plot's turns, especially as Julia and Dave stumble recklessly into Never number 10: never date your best friend. Though a subplot with Julia stalking her math teacher strains credibility, Alsaid deftly handles Dave's complicated and longstanding feelings for Julia. The clever banter between the two best friends, along with pitch-perfect emotional resonance, makes this book more enduring in spite of its predictability. With all the fun of a classic teen movie, this one should fly off the shelves. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Alsaid's debut received wide acclaim, and he's getting a major promotional plan for his follow-up, including a tour.--Barnes, Jennifer Copyright 2010 Booklist

Syndetic Solutions - Publishers Weekly Review for ISBN Number 9780373212101
Never Always Sometimes
Never Always Sometimes
by Alsaid, Adi
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Publishers Weekly Review

Never Always Sometimes

Publishers Weekly


Upon entering high school, best friends Julia and Dave wanted, more than anything, to avoid becoming cliché. To ensure that they have an "original high school experience," they created a list of things they must never do, like skinny dipping or going on a "life-changing" road trip. But now it's senior year, and they wonder what they might have missed out on. Julia and Dave decide that it's time to break their own rules and try, if only once, all the things they vowed not to do. Much to their surprise, they have some fun drinking at parties and dying their hair, and they discover that some classmates they had previously dismissed as stereotypes are worth knowing. Complications arise when David starts falling for a very conventional girl, and Julia simultaneously discovers that her feelings for David go deeper than friendship. Exploring universal feelings of friendship and love, Alsaid (Let's Get Lost) offers a colorful depiction of two teens discovering what they have in common with others. Their escapades and realizations will evoke laughter and empathy. Ages 14-up. Agency: Alloy Entertainment. (Aug.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Syndetic Solutions - School Library Journal Review for ISBN Number 9780373212101
Never Always Sometimes
Never Always Sometimes
by Alsaid, Adi
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

School Library Journal Review

Never Always Sometimes

School Library Journal


(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Gr 9 Up-Dave and Julia have been best friends since eighth grade, and Dave has secretly been in love with Julia all that time. Now they're seniors, and when they come across a list they made as freshmen that spells out all of the clichés not to do in high school (e.g., never dye your hair a color of the rainbow), they decide to do them all before graduation. Amanda Leigh Cobb narrates. Girls' voices are expressive, impish, perky, and somewhat ditzy at times. Cobb is slightly less successful with Dave's voice, which often sounds feminine both in tone and mannerisms. But the fun result is a light, upbeat novel of high school life. Cobb handles the fast-moving, bantering dialogue with ease. Listeners will be amused as items on the list get checked off and Dave and Julia find out there's a lot more to high school than they realized. VERDICT Fans of Jenny Han and Stephanie Perkins will enjoy this audiobook. ["This fun romp will appeal to students looking to push beyond the edges of their own comfort zones": SLJ 7/15 review of the Harlequin Teen book.]-Julie Paladino, formerly of East Chapel Hill High School, NC © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Search Results Showing Item 7 of 28

Additional Resources