Catalog

Many Bibliomation libraries are adjusting their services at this time. Please contact your local library staff or consult their website for more information about the services they are providing.

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 44 of 51 copies available at Bibliomation.
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Rockville Public Library. (Show preferred library)
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Burnham Library - Bridgewater TEEN FIC BENWAY (Text to phone) 36937000610965 Teen Available -
C.H. Booth Library - Newtown YA FIC BENWAY (Text to phone) 34014139760103 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Chester Public Library YA BEN (Text to phone) 33210000399820 Young Adult Fiction Available -
David M. Hunt Library - Falls Village yBEN (Text to phone) 33180141780297 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Deep River Public Library YA F Benw (Text to phone) 36039001172416 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Derby Public Library YA BEN (Text to phone) 34047140399032 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Douglas Library - North Canaan Y BEN (Text to phone) 33490002534117 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Douglas Library of Hebron YA FIC BEN (Text to phone) 33400145578640 Young Adult Fiction Available -
East Side Branch - Bridgeport FIC BENWAY (Text to phone) 34000081431249 Adult Fiction Available -
Easton Public Library YA BENWAY, ROBIN (Text to phone) 37777119018133 Young Adult Fiction Available -
« Previous 10 Next 10 »

Record details

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
Grace, adopted at birth, is raised as an only child. At sixteen she's just put her own baby up for adoption, and now is looking for her biological family. She discovers Maya, her loudmouthed younger bio sister who was also adopted ; and Joaquin, their stoic older bio brother, who has no interest in bonding over their shared biological mother after seventeen years in the foster care system. Grace struggles between cautious joy at having found them, and the true meaning of family in all its forms.
Target Audience Note:
HL780L Lexile.
Study Program Information Note:
Accelerated Reader 5.1.
Awards Note:
National Book Award, 2017.
Subject: Adopted children > Juvenile fiction.
Brothers and sisters > Juvenile fiction.
Families > Juvenile fiction.
Teenage mothers > Juvenile fiction.
Identity (Psychology) > Juvenile fiction.
Families > Fiction.
Brothers and sisters > Fiction.
Middle-born children > Fiction.
Genre: Young adult fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Novels.
Fiction.

Syndetic Solutions - Summary for ISBN Number 9780062330628
Far from the Tree
Far from the Tree
by Benway, Robin
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Summary

Far from the Tree


National Book Award Winner, PEN America Award Winner, and New York Times Bestseller! Perfect for fans of This Is Us, Robin Benway's beautiful interweaving story of three very different teenagers connected by blood explores the meaning of family in all its forms--how to find it, how to keep it, and how to love it. This young adult novel is an excellent choice for accelerated tween readers in grades 7 to 8, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. Being the middle child has its ups and downs. But for Grace, an only child who was adopted at birth, discovering that she is a middle child is a different ride altogether. After putting her own baby up for adoption, she goes looking for her biological family, including-- Maya, her loudmouthed younger bio sister, who has a lot to say about their newfound family ties. Having grown up the snarky brunette in a house full of chipper redheads, she's quick to search for traces of herself among these not-quite-strangers. And when her adopted family's long-buried problems begin to explode to the surface, Maya can't help but wonder where exactly it is that she belongs. And Joaquin, their stoic older bio brother, who has no interest in bonding over their shared biological mother. After seventeen years in the foster care system, he's learned that there are no heroes, and secrets and fears are best kept close to the vest, where they can't hurt anyone but him. Don't miss this moving novel that addresses such important topics as adoption, teen pregnancy, and foster care.

Additional Resources