Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Record details

Content descriptions

Participant or Performer Note: Read by Michael Crouch.
Summary, etc.: Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack GantosArcher Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer,; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth--Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact, the first male teacher in the history of the school. But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn't see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he's the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story.In pages that ripple with laughter, there's a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.From the Hardcover edition.
Target Audience Note:
7-8.
Source of Description Note:
Hard copy version record.
Subject: Families Juvenile fiction
Schools Juvenile fiction
Role models Juvenile fiction
Weddings Juvenile fiction
Gays Juvenile fiction
Family life Fiction
Schools Fiction
Role models Fiction
Weddings Fiction
Gays Fiction
Juvenile Fiction
Juvenile Literature
Genre: Audiobooks.
Fiction.
Juvenile works.
Audiobooks.
Downloadable audio books.

Additional Resources