Catalog

Many Bibliomation libraries are adjusting their services at this time. Please contact your local library staff or consult their website for more information about the services they are providing.

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 7 of 47

The weight of ink / Rachel Kadish.

Kadish, Rachel (author.).

Links

Record details

Content descriptions

Formatted Contents Note: Front Cover; Front Flap; Front Matter; Half Title; Other Books by this Author; Title; Copyright; Dedication; Epigraph; Foreword; Part 1; 1.; 2.; 3.; 4.; 5.; 6.; 7.; 8.; 9.; Part 2; 10.; 11.; 12.; 13.; Part 3; 14.; 15.; 16.; 17.; 18.; 19.; 20.; 21.; Part 4; 22.; 23.; 24.; 25.; 26.; Part 5; 27.; 28.; 29.; 30.; 31.; 32.; 33.; 34.; Back Matter; Author's Note; Acknowledgments; Back Flap; Back Cover; Spine
Summary, etc.: "An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A.S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, anemigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive"Aleph."Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must makein order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind"--
Source of Description Note:
Print version record and CIP data provided by publisher; resource not viewed.
Subject: Literature
Historical Fiction
Fiction
Jewish women Fiction
Women historians Fiction
Genre: Historical fiction.
Historical fiction.
Electronic books.
Jewish fiction.
Search Results Showing Item 7 of 47

Additional Resources