Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 5 of 45

The weight of ink / Rachel Kadish.

Kadish, Rachel (author.).

Links

Record details

Content descriptions

Formatted Contents Note: Front Cover; Front Flap; Front Matter; Half Title; Other Books by this Author; Title; Copyright; Dedication; Epigraph; Foreword; Part 1; 1.; 2.; 3.; 4.; 5.; 6.; 7.; 8.; 9.; Part 2; 10.; 11.; 12.; 13.; Part 3; 14.; 15.; 16.; 17.; 18.; 19.; 20.; 21.; Part 4; 22.; 23.; 24.; 25.; 26.; Part 5; 27.; 28.; 29.; 30.; 31.; 32.; 33.; 34.; Back Matter; Author's Note; Acknowledgments; Back Flap; Back Cover; Spine
Summary, etc.: "An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A.S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, anemigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive"Aleph."Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must makein order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind"--
Source of Description Note:
Print version record and CIP data provided by publisher; resource not viewed.
Subject: Women historians Fiction
Jewish women Fiction
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Literature
Genre: Jewish fiction.
Electronic books.
Historical fiction.
Historical fiction.
Search Results Showing Item 5 of 45

Additional Resources