Catalog

Many Bibliomation libraries are adjusting their services at this time. Please contact your local library staff or consult their website for more information about the services they are providing.

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 4 of 9 Preferred library: Rockville Public Library?

The poet X / Elizabeth Acevedo.

Acevedo, Elizabeth (author,, narrator.). Harper Audio (Firm) (Added Author). Performed by Elizabeth Acevedo. (Cast).

Links

Available copies

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Rockville Public Library BKCD ACE TEEN (Text to phone) 34035143736268 Teen Book on CD Available -
Mark Twain Library Association - Redding YA AUDIO Ace (Text to phone) 33620139900696 YA Audiobook Available -
Milford Public Library ACEVEDO Elizabeth (Text to phone) 34013143664673 Adult Fiction CD Available -
Oliver Wolcott Library - Litchfield YA CD SPOKEN ACE (Text to phone) 36123143007829 Young Adult Nutmeg Available -
Southbury Public Library NUTMEG HIGH SCHOOL/BOOK ON CD (Text to phone) 34019148466311 Teen Book on CD Available -

Record details

Content descriptions

General Note: Pura Belpre Medal, Narrative (Author), 2019. Nutmeg Award Nominee, High School, 2021.
Participant or Performer Note: Performed by Elizabeth Acevedo.
Summary, etc.: Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.
Awards Note:
Pura Belpre Medal, Narrative (Author), 2019. Nutmeg Award Nominee, High School, 2021.
Subject: Teenage girls Fiction
Dominican Americans Fiction
High school students Fiction
Poets Fiction
Poetry slams Fiction
Schools Fiction
Adolescence Fiction
Self-esteem Fiction
Interpersonal relations Fiction
Harlem (New York, N.Y.) Fiction
Teenage girls Fiction
Dominican Americans Fiction
High school students Fiction
Poets Fiction
Poetry slams Fiction
Schools Fiction
Adolescence Fiction
Self-esteem Fiction
Interpersonal relations Fiction
Harlem (New York, N.Y.) Fiction
Novels in verse
Genre: Audiobooks.
Young adult fiction.

Syndetic Solutions - Summary for ISBN Number 9781538500231
The Poet X
The Poet X
by Acevedo, Elizabeth (Author, Read by)
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Summary

The Poet X


Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth. Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking. But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers--especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about. With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems. Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent. "Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." --Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation "An incredibly potent debut." --Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost "Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." --Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street
Search Results Showing Item 4 of 9 Preferred library: Rockville Public Library?

Additional Resources