Catalog

Many Bibliomation libraries are adjusting their services at this time. Please contact your local library staff or consult their website for more information about the services they are providing.

Record Details

Catalog Search


Record details

Content descriptions

Participant or Performer Note: Read by the author.
Summary, etc.: "Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice."--Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation"An incredibly potent debut."--Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero."--Ibi Zoboi, author of American StreetFans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing #ownvoices novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth. Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers--especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about. With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems. Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.
Source of Description Note:
Online resource; title from title details screen (OverDrive, viewed March 12, 2018).
Subject: Young Adult Literature
Poetry
Young Adult Fiction
New York (State) New York Harlem
Teenage girls
Self-esteem
Schools
Poets
Poetry slams
Interpersonal relations
High school students
Dominican Americans
Adolescence
Harlem (New York, N.Y.) Fiction
Interpersonal relations Fiction
Self-esteem Fiction
Adolescence Fiction
Schools Fiction
Poetry slams Fiction
Poets Fiction
High school students Fiction
Dominican Americans Fiction
Teenage girls Fiction
Harlem (New York, N.Y.) Juvenile fiction
Interpersonal relations Juvenile fiction
Self-esteem Juvenile fiction
Adolescence Juvenile fiction
Schools Juvenile fiction
Poetry slams Juvenile fiction
Poets Juvenile fiction
High school students Juvenile fiction
Dominican Americans Juvenile fiction
Teenage girls Juvenile fiction
Genre: Juvenile works.
Fiction.
Audiobooks.
Downloadable audio books.
Audiobooks.

Additional Resources