Catalog

Many Bibliomation libraries are adjusting their services at this time. Please contact your local library staff or consult their website for more information about the services they are providing.

Record Details

Catalog Search


Record details

Content descriptions

Participant or Performer Note: Read by the author.
Summary, etc.: "Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice."--Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation"An incredibly potent debut."--Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero."--Ibi Zoboi, author of American StreetFans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing #ownvoices novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth. Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers--especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about. With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems. Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.
Source of Description Note:
Online resource; title from title details screen (OverDrive, viewed March 12, 2018).
Subject: Teenage girls Juvenile fiction
Dominican Americans Juvenile fiction
High school students Juvenile fiction
Poets Juvenile fiction
Poetry slams Juvenile fiction
Schools Juvenile fiction
Adolescence Juvenile fiction
Self-esteem Juvenile fiction
Interpersonal relations Juvenile fiction
Harlem (New York, N.Y.) Juvenile fiction
Teenage girls Fiction
Dominican Americans Fiction
High school students Fiction
Poets Fiction
Poetry slams Fiction
Schools Fiction
Adolescence Fiction
Self-esteem Fiction
Interpersonal relations Fiction
Harlem (New York, N.Y.) Fiction
Adolescence
Dominican Americans
High school students
Interpersonal relations
Poetry slams
Poets
Schools
Self-esteem
Teenage girls
New York (State) New York Harlem
Young Adult Fiction
Poetry
Young Adult Literature
Genre: Juvenile works.
Fiction.
Audiobooks.
Downloadable audio books.
Audiobooks.
LDR 05247cim a2200889Ii 4500
001on1027962703
00520190222152303.0
006m o h
007sz zunnnnnuneu
007cr nnannnunuuu
008180308s2018 nyunnnndo f n eng d
040 . ‡aTEFOD ‡beng ‡erda ‡epn ‡cTEFOD ‡dOCLCO ‡dTEFOD ‡dOCLCF ‡dMMI ‡dUOK ‡dIBI
020 . ‡a9780062822482 ‡q(electronic audio bk.)
020 . ‡a0062822489 ‡q(electronic audio bk.)
035 . ‡a(OCoLC)1027962703
037 . ‡aAE09AA78-16BA-4D98-984E-B26F9AC8DE8B ‡bOverDrive, Inc. ‡nhttp://www.overdrive.com
050 4. ‡aPZ7.5.A348 ‡bPo 2018ab
082 . ‡a[Fic]
084 . ‡aYAF044000 ‡aYAF046140 ‡aYAF058260 ‡2bisacsh
049 . ‡aGPTA
1001 . ‡aAcevedo, Elizabeth, ‡eauthor, ‡enarrator.
24514. ‡aThe poet X : ‡ba novel / ‡cby Elizabeth Acevedo.
250 . ‡aUnabridged.
264 1. ‡a[New York, NY] : ‡bHarperCollins, ‡c2018.
300 . ‡a1 online resource (1 sound file (03 hr., 32 min., 50 sec.)) : ‡bdigital
306 . ‡a033250
336 . ‡aspoken word ‡bspw ‡2rdacontent
337 . ‡acomputer ‡bc ‡2rdamedia
338 . ‡aonline resource ‡bcr ‡2rdacarrier
344 . ‡adigital ‡2rda
347 . ‡aaudio file ‡2rda
5110 . ‡aRead by the author.
520 . ‡a"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice."--Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation"An incredibly potent debut."--Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero."--Ibi Zoboi, author of American StreetFans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing #ownvoices novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth. Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers--especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about. With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems. Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.
5880 . ‡aOnline resource; title from title details screen (OverDrive, viewed March 12, 2018).
650 0. ‡aTeenage girls ‡vJuvenile fiction.
650 0. ‡aDominican Americans ‡vJuvenile fiction.
650 0. ‡aHigh school students ‡vJuvenile fiction.
650 0. ‡aPoets ‡vJuvenile fiction.
650 0. ‡aPoetry slams ‡vJuvenile fiction.
650 0. ‡aSchools ‡vJuvenile fiction.
650 0. ‡aAdolescence ‡vJuvenile fiction.
650 0. ‡aSelf-esteem ‡vJuvenile fiction.
650 0. ‡aInterpersonal relations ‡vJuvenile fiction.
651 0. ‡aHarlem (New York, N.Y.) ‡vJuvenile fiction.
650 1. ‡aTeenage girls ‡vFiction.
650 1. ‡aDominican Americans ‡vFiction.
650 1. ‡aHigh school students ‡vFiction.
650 1. ‡aPoets ‡vFiction.
650 1. ‡aPoetry slams ‡vFiction.
650 1. ‡aSchools ‡vFiction.
650 1. ‡aAdolescence ‡vFiction.
650 1. ‡aSelf-esteem ‡vFiction.
650 1. ‡aInterpersonal relations ‡vFiction.
651 1. ‡aHarlem (New York, N.Y.) ‡vFiction.
650 7. ‡aAdolescence. ‡2fast ‡0(OCoLC)fst00796984
650 7. ‡aDominican Americans. ‡2fast ‡0(OCoLC)fst00896753
650 7. ‡aHigh school students. ‡2fast ‡0(OCoLC)fst00956174
650 7. ‡aInterpersonal relations. ‡2fast ‡0(OCoLC)fst00977397
650 7. ‡aPoetry slams. ‡2fast ‡0(OCoLC)fst01200336
650 7. ‡aPoets. ‡2fast ‡0(OCoLC)fst01067778
650 7. ‡aSchools. ‡2fast ‡0(OCoLC)fst01107958
650 7. ‡aSelf-esteem. ‡2fast ‡0(OCoLC)fst01111662
650 7. ‡aTeenage girls. ‡2fast ‡0(OCoLC)fst01145412
651 7. ‡aNew York (State) ‡zNew York ‡zHarlem. ‡2fast ‡0(OCoLC)fst01312318
65017. ‡aYoung Adult Fiction. ‡2overdrive
650 7. ‡aPoetry. ‡2overdrive
650 7. ‡aYoung Adult Literature. ‡2overdrive
655 7. ‡aAudiobooks. ‡2lcgft
655 4. ‡aDownloadable audio books.
655 7. ‡aAudiobooks. ‡2fast ‡0(OCoLC)fst01726208
655 7. ‡aFiction. ‡2fast ‡0(OCoLC)fst01423787
655 7. ‡aJuvenile works. ‡2fast ‡0(OCoLC)fst01411637
85640. ‡3Excerpt ‡uhttps://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=ae09aa78-16ba-4d98-984e-b26f9ac8de8b&.epub-sample.overdrive.com ‡9BRDGBR ‡9BRDGPT ‡9BRDGNF ‡9BRDGOM ‡9BRDGNB ‡9BRDSYS ‡xbrdsys
85640. ‡3Excerpt ‡uhttps://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/0293-1/3309411-ThePoetX.mp3 ‡9BRDGBR ‡9BRDGPT ‡9BRDGNF ‡9BRDGOM ‡9BRDGNB ‡9BRDSYS ‡xbrdsys
85640. ‡uhttp://link.overdrive.com/?websiteId=100043&titleId=3309411 ‡yAvailable Online from OverDrive. Click here to download. This OverDrive title is only available to Bridgeport Library card patrons ‡9BRDGBR ‡9BRDGPT ‡9BRDGNF ‡9BRDGOM ‡9BRDGNB ‡9BRDSYS ‡xbrdsys
85640. ‡3Excerpt ‡uhttps://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=ae09aa78-16ba-4d98-984e-b26f9ac8de8b&.epub-sample.overdrive.com ‡yAvailable Online from Overdrive. Click here to download. ‡9ANSONA ‡9SPRAGUE ‡9BFALLS ‡9BETHEL ‡9BOLTON ‡9BRKFLD ‡9CHESTER ‡9COVENTRY ‡9DERBY ‡9DBNECK ‡9DMHUNT ‡9EHAVEN ‡9EASTON ‡9ELNGTN ‡9WSHGTN ‡9HEBRON ‡9JCCL ‡9JTRUMBULL ‡9KLWRTH ‡9KLNGLY ‡9MILFORD ‡9RXBURY ‡9MONROE ‡9MORRIS ‡9NAUGTK ‡9NCANAAN ‡9NEWTWN ‡9NORFLK ‡9LITFLD ‡9OXFORD ‡9PUTNAM ‡9RDGFLD ‡9REDDNG ‡9ROCKVL ‡9ROWLIB ‡9SALEM ‡9SLSBRY ‡9SEYMOR ‡9SHLSYS ‡9SHLTON ‡9HUNTNG ‡9SLATER ‡9SRMAN ‡9SOMERS ‡9SBURY ‡9SFFRD ‡9SUFFLD ‡9TERYVL ‡9TLLAND ‡9TOMPSN ‡9UNION ‡9WARREN ‡9WDBURY ‡9WESTON ‡9WTRBRY ‡9BUHILL ‡9WLMNTC ‡9WOLCOT ‡9WINDFREE ‡xcons
85640. ‡3Excerpt ‡uhttps://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/0293-1/3309411-ThePoetX.mp3 ‡yAvailable Online from Overdrive. Click here to download. ‡9ANSONA ‡9SPRAGUE ‡9BFALLS ‡9BETHEL ‡9BOLTON ‡9BRKFLD ‡9CHESTER ‡9COVENTRY ‡9DERBY ‡9DBNECK ‡9DMHUNT ‡9EHAVEN ‡9EASTON ‡9ELNGTN ‡9WSHGTN ‡9HEBRON ‡9JCCL ‡9JTRUMBULL ‡9KLWRTH ‡9KLNGLY ‡9MILFORD ‡9RXBURY ‡9MONROE ‡9MORRIS ‡9NAUGTK ‡9NCANAAN ‡9NEWTWN ‡9NORFLK ‡9LITFLD ‡9OXFORD ‡9PUTNAM ‡9RDGFLD ‡9REDDNG ‡9ROCKVL ‡9ROWLIB ‡9SALEM ‡9SLSBRY ‡9SEYMOR ‡9SHLSYS ‡9SHLTON ‡9HUNTNG ‡9SLATER ‡9SRMAN ‡9SOMERS ‡9SBURY ‡9SFFRD ‡9SUFFLD ‡9TERYVL ‡9TLLAND ‡9TOMPSN ‡9UNION ‡9WARREN ‡9WDBURY ‡9WESTON ‡9WTRBRY ‡9BUHILL ‡9WLMNTC ‡9WOLCOT ‡9WINDFREE ‡xcons
85640. ‡uhttp://link.overdrive.com/?websiteId=197&titleId=3309411 ‡yAvailable Online from Overdrive. Click here to download. ‡9ANSONA ‡9SPRAGUE ‡9BFALLS ‡9BETHEL ‡9BOLTON ‡9BRKFLD ‡9CHESTER ‡9COVENTRY ‡9DERBY ‡9DBNECK ‡9DMHUNT ‡9EHAVEN ‡9EASTON ‡9ELNGTN ‡9WSHGTN ‡9HEBRON ‡9JCCL ‡9JTRUMBULL ‡9KLWRTH ‡9KLNGLY ‡9MILFORD ‡9RXBURY ‡9MONROE ‡9MORRIS ‡9NAUGTK ‡9NCANAAN ‡9NEWTWN ‡9NORFLK ‡9LITFLD ‡9OXFORD ‡9PUTNAM ‡9RDGFLD ‡9REDDNG ‡9ROCKVL ‡9ROWLIB ‡9SALEM ‡9SLSBRY ‡9SEYMOR ‡9SHLSYS ‡9SHLTON ‡9HUNTNG ‡9SLATER ‡9SRMAN ‡9SOMERS ‡9SBURY ‡9SFFRD ‡9SUFFLD ‡9TERYVL ‡9TLLAND ‡9TOMPSN ‡9UNION ‡9WARREN ‡9WDBURY ‡9WESTON ‡9WTRBRY ‡9BUHILL ‡9WLMNTC ‡9WOLCOT ‡9WINDFREE ‡xcons
85640. ‡3Excerpt ‡uhttps://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=ae09aa78-16ba-4d98-984e-b26f9ac8de8b&.epub-sample.overdrive.com ‡9NEWTWN ‡xnewtwn
85640. ‡3Excerpt ‡uhttps://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/0293-1/3309411-ThePoetX.mp3 ‡9NEWTWN ‡xnewtwn
85640. ‡uhttp://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=197&titleID=3309411 ‡yAvailable Online from OverDrive for C.H. Booth Library patrons only. Click here to download ‡9NEWTWN ‡xnewtwn
905 . ‡uesattler
901 . ‡aon1027962703 ‡bSystem Local ‡c4145001 ‡tbiblio ‡sOverdrive Advantage

Additional Resources