Catalog

Many Bibliomation libraries are adjusting their services at this time. Please contact your local library staff or consult their website for more information about the services they are providing.

Record Details

Catalog Search


Record details

Content descriptions

Participant or Performer Note: Read by Anna Popplewell.
Summary, etc.: "A marvelous treat. Charming and delightful."--Nina Stibbe, author of Love, Nina An irresistible debut set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist--a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.London, 1940. Emmeline Lake is Doing Her Bit for the war effort, volunteering as a telephone operator with the Auxiliary Fire Services. When Emmy sees an advertisement for a job at the London Evening Chronicle, her dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent suddenly seem achievable. But the job turns out to be working as a typist for the fierce and renowned advice columnist, Henrietta Bird. Emmy is disappointed, but gamely bucks up and buckles down. Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight in the bin. But when Emmy reads poignant notes from women who may have Gone Too Far with the wrong men, or who can't bear to let their children be evacuated, she is unable to resist responding. As the German planes make their nightly raids, and London picks up the smoldering pieces each morning, Emmy secretly begins to write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles. Prepare to fall head over heels for Emmy and her best friend, Bunty, who are gutsy and spirited, even in the face of a terrible blow. The irrepressible Emmy keeps writing letters in this hilarious and enormously moving tale of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and ordinary people in extraordinary times.
Source of Description Note:
Online resource; title from title details screen (OverDrive, viewed July 16, 2018).
Subject: Literature
Humor (Fiction)
Historical Fiction
Fiction
England London
London (England) History 1800-1950 Fiction
World War, 1939-1945 Social aspects England London Fiction
Female friendship Fiction
Advice columnists Fiction
World War (1939-1945)
Genre: Electronic books.
Audiobooks.
War fiction.
Historical fiction.
LDR 05283cim a2200649Ii 4500
001on1043668304
00520190510132541.8
006m o h
007sz zunnnnnuneu
007cr nnannnunuuu
008180709s2018 nyunnnneo f n eng d
040 . ‡aTEFOD ‡beng ‡erda ‡epn ‡cTEFOD ‡dRECBC ‡dOCLCO ‡dTEFOD ‡dMMI ‡dIBI ‡dOCLCF ‡dVP@ ‡dOCLCA ‡dMMI ‡dSOM
020 . ‡a9781508255192 ‡q(electronic audio bk.)
020 . ‡a1508255199 ‡q(electronic audio bk.)
035 . ‡a(OCoLC)1043668304
037 . ‡a3CE31D32-84E1-4134-AA43-031A5FBC7404 ‡bOverDrive, Inc. ‡nhttp://www.overdrive.com
043 . ‡ae-uk-en
050 4. ‡aPR6116.E675 ‡bD33 2018ab
08204. ‡a823/.92 ‡223
084 . ‡aFIC014000 ‡aFIC016000 ‡aFIC043000 ‡2bisacsh
049 . ‡aBIBA
1001 . ‡aPearce, A. J. ‡q(Amanda-Jane), ‡eauthor.
24510. ‡aDear Mrs. Bird : ‡ba novel / ‡cA.J. Pearce.
250 . ‡aUnabridged.
264 1. ‡a[New York, NY] : ‡bSimon & Schuster Audio, ‡c2018.
300 . ‡a1 online resource (1 sound file (09 hr., 50 min., 58 sec.)) : ‡bdigital
306 . ‡a095058
336 . ‡aspoken word ‡bspw ‡2rdacontent
337 . ‡acomputer ‡bc ‡2rdamedia
338 . ‡aonline resource ‡bcr ‡2rdacarrier
344 . ‡adigital ‡2rda
347 . ‡aaudio file ‡2rda
5110 . ‡aRead by Anna Popplewell.
520 . ‡a"A marvelous treat. Charming and delightful."--Nina Stibbe, author of Love, Nina An irresistible debut set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist--a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.London, 1940. Emmeline Lake is Doing Her Bit for the war effort, volunteering as a telephone operator with the Auxiliary Fire Services. When Emmy sees an advertisement for a job at the London Evening Chronicle, her dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent suddenly seem achievable. But the job turns out to be working as a typist for the fierce and renowned advice columnist, Henrietta Bird. Emmy is disappointed, but gamely bucks up and buckles down. Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight in the bin. But when Emmy reads poignant notes from women who may have Gone Too Far with the wrong men, or who can't bear to let their children be evacuated, she is unable to resist responding. As the German planes make their nightly raids, and London picks up the smoldering pieces each morning, Emmy secretly begins to write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles. Prepare to fall head over heels for Emmy and her best friend, Bunty, who are gutsy and spirited, even in the face of a terrible blow. The irrepressible Emmy keeps writing letters in this hilarious and enormously moving tale of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and ordinary people in extraordinary times.
5880 . ‡aOnline resource; title from title details screen (OverDrive, viewed July 16, 2018).
61127. ‡aWorld War (1939-1945) ‡2fast ‡0(OCoLC)fst01180924
650 0. ‡aAdvice columnists ‡vFiction.
650 0. ‡aFemale friendship ‡vFiction.
650 0. ‡aWorld War, 1939-1945 ‡xSocial aspects ‡zEngland ‡zLondon ‡vFiction.
651 0. ‡aLondon (England) ‡xHistory ‡y1800-1950 ‡vFiction.
651 7. ‡aEngland ‡zLondon. ‡2fast ‡0(OCoLC)fst01204271
65017. ‡aFiction. ‡2overdrive
650 7. ‡aHistorical Fiction. ‡2overdrive
650 7. ‡aHumor (Fiction). ‡2overdrive
650 7. ‡aLiterature. ‡2overdrive
648 7. ‡a1800-1950 ‡2fast
655 7. ‡aHistorical fiction. ‡2lcgft
655 7. ‡aWar fiction. ‡2lcgft
655 7. ‡aAudiobooks. ‡2lcgft
655 4. ‡aElectronic books.
7001 . ‡aPopplewell, Anna, ‡d1988- ‡enarrator.
77608. ‡iSource record: ‡aPearce, A. J. (Amanda-Jane). ‡tDear Mrs Bird. ‡bUnabridged. ‡dTullamarine, Victoria : Bolinda Audio, [2018] ‡z9781509890163 ‡w(OCoLC)1039898925
85640. ‡uhttp://link.overdrive.com/?websiteId=197&titleId=3602571 ‡yAvailable Online from Overdrive. Click here to download. ‡9ANSONA ‡9SPRAGUE ‡9BFALLS ‡9BETHEL ‡9BOLTON ‡9BRKFLD ‡9CHESTER ‡9COVENTRY ‡9DERBY ‡9DBNECK ‡9DMHUNT ‡9EHAVEN ‡9EASTON ‡9ELNGTN ‡9WSHGTN ‡9HEBRON ‡9JCCL ‡9JTRUMBULL ‡9KLWRTH ‡9KLNGLY ‡9MILFORD ‡9RXBURY ‡9MONROE ‡9MORRIS ‡9NAUGTK ‡9NCANAAN ‡9NEWTWN ‡9NORFLK ‡9LITFLD ‡9OXFORD ‡9PUTNAM ‡9RDGFLD ‡9REDDNG ‡9ROCKVL ‡9ROWLIB ‡9SALEM ‡9SLSBRY ‡9SEYMOR ‡9SHLSYS ‡9SHLTON ‡9HUNTNG ‡9SLATER ‡9SRMAN ‡9SOMERS ‡9SBURY ‡9SFFRD ‡9SUFFLD ‡9TERYVL ‡9TLLAND ‡9TOMPSN ‡9UNION ‡9WARREN ‡9WDBURY ‡9WESTON ‡9WTRBRY ‡9BUHILL ‡9WLMNTC ‡9WOLCOT ‡9WINDFREE ‡xcons
85640. ‡3Excerpt ‡uhttps://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/5054-1/3602571-DearMrs.Bird.mp3 ‡yAvailable Online from Overdrive. Click here to download. ‡9ANSONA ‡9SPRAGUE ‡9BFALLS ‡9BETHEL ‡9BOLTON ‡9BRKFLD ‡9CHESTER ‡9COVENTRY ‡9DERBY ‡9DBNECK ‡9DMHUNT ‡9EHAVEN ‡9EASTON ‡9ELNGTN ‡9WSHGTN ‡9HEBRON ‡9JCCL ‡9JTRUMBULL ‡9KLWRTH ‡9KLNGLY ‡9MILFORD ‡9RXBURY ‡9MONROE ‡9MORRIS ‡9NAUGTK ‡9NCANAAN ‡9NEWTWN ‡9NORFLK ‡9LITFLD ‡9OXFORD ‡9PUTNAM ‡9RDGFLD ‡9REDDNG ‡9ROCKVL ‡9ROWLIB ‡9SALEM ‡9SLSBRY ‡9SEYMOR ‡9SHLSYS ‡9SHLTON ‡9HUNTNG ‡9SLATER ‡9SRMAN ‡9SOMERS ‡9SBURY ‡9SFFRD ‡9SUFFLD ‡9TERYVL ‡9TLLAND ‡9TOMPSN ‡9UNION ‡9WARREN ‡9WDBURY ‡9WESTON ‡9WTRBRY ‡9BUHILL ‡9WLMNTC ‡9WOLCOT ‡9WINDFREE ‡xcons
938 . ‡aRecorded Books, LLC ‡bRECC ‡nrbdZ100136763
905 . ‡ucordelia
901 . ‡aon1043668304 ‡bSystem Local ‡c4226076 ‡tbiblio ‡sOverdrive

Additional Resources